Manaiakalani Secondary Events

Professional development & networking opportunities for high school teachers


Department Discussions - click here to register

We’ve had just over 110 teacher registrations for the Secondary Department Discussions so far this year. The Department Discussion meetings are the ideal place to network with other teachers who may be able to offer support for moderation and/or teaching new units of work.

The meetings are recorded and resources shared on subject specific pages linked below or from the drop down menu above.

Dates for the year are listed below. All meetings start at 3:30 pm

Items for discussion respond to teachers' requests and may include;

  • sharing Learn, Create, Share best practice

  • Embedding Cybersmart elements for contextually rich engagement

  • Approaches to NCEA,

  • Developing literacy across the curriculum

  • Turbocharging students learning in digital environments

Click on the subject hyperlinks below to see resources and recordings shared from previous meetings.

  • Wednesday, Aug 3,

  • Tuesday, Oct 25,

  • Thursday, Aug 4,

  • Wednesday, Oct 26,

  • Wednesday, Aug 10,

  • Tuesday, Nov 15th

  • Wednesday, Aug 17,

  • Wednesday, Nov 9,

  • Thursday, Aug 18,

  • Thursday, Nov 10

Week 5: Online Toolkits

Week 5: Online Toolkits

The Manaiakalani Online toolkits run for three days, and offer an extensive range of professional development sessions.

Click here to register and to find out what's on offer.

  • Tuesday, Jun 7,

  • Wednesday, Aug 31,

  • Tuesday, Nov 22,

Week 6: Careers/Gateways

  • Thursday, Jun 9,

  • Thursday, Sep 1,

  • Thursday, Nov 24,

Week 7: Languages

  • Tuesday, Jun 14,

  • Tuesday, Sep 6,

  • Tuesday, Nov 29,

Week 7: Te Reo Māori

  • Thursday, Jun 16,

  • Thursday, Sep 8,

  • Thu, Dec 1,